Here are the 2023 Nebula Award Winners!

On Saturday night, the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers Association (SFWA) held its annual ceremony for the Nebula Awards in Pasadena, California. The awards are given to outstanding works in the genre space.

You can see the finalists and winners in each of the categories below. Congratulations to all!

Best Novel

  • Winner: The Saint of Bright Doors by Vajra Chandrasekera, published by Tordotcom
  • The Water Outlaws by S. L. Huang, published by Tordotcom and Solaris UK
  • Translation State by Ann Leckie, published by Orbit US and Orbit UK
  • The Terraformers by Annalee Newitz, published by Tor and Orbit UK
  • Shigidi and the Brass Head of Obalufon by Wole Talabi, published by DAW and Gollancz
  • Witch King by Martha Wells, published by Tordotcom

Best Novella

  • “The Crane Husband” by Kelly Barnhill, published by Tordotcom
  • Winner: “Linghun” by Ai Jiang, published by Dark Matter Ink
  • “Thornhedge” by T. Kingfisher, published by Tor and Titan UK
  • “Untethered Sky” by Fonda Lee, published by Tordotcom
  • “The Mimicking of Known Successes” by Malka Older, published by Tordotcom
  • “Mammoths at the Gates” by Nghi Vo, published by Tordotcom

Best Novelette

  • “A Short Biography of a Conscious Chair” by Renan Bernardo, published by Samovar
  • “I am AI” by Ai Jiang, published by Shortwave
  • Winner: “The Year Without Sunshine” by Naomi Kritzer, published by Uncanny
  • “Imagine Purple-Haired Girl Shooting Down the Moon” by Angela Liu, published by Clarkesworld
  • “Saturday’s Song” by Wole Talabi, published by Lightspeed Magazine
  • “Six Versions of My Brother Found Under the Bridge” by Eugenia Triantafyllou, published by Uncanny

Best Short Story

  • “Once Upon a Time at The Oakmont” by P. A. Cornell, published by Fantasy
  • Winner: “Tantie Merle and the Farmhand 4200” by R. S. A. Garcia, published by Uncanny
  • “Window Boy” by Thomas Ha, published by Clarkesworld
  • “The Sound of Children Screaming” by Rachael K. Jones, published by Nightmare
  • “Better Living Through Algorithms” by Naomi Kritzer, published by Clarkesworld
  • “Bad Doors” by John Wiswell, published by Uncanny

Ray Bradbury Nebula Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Nimona written by Robert L. Baird, Lloyd Taylor, Pamela Ribon, , Nick Bruno, Troy Quaine, Keith Bunin, and Nate Stevenson (Annapurna Animation and Annapurna Pictures)
  • The Last of Us: “Long, Long Time” written by Neil Druckman and Craig Mazin (HBO Max)
  • Winner: Barbie written by Greta Gerwig and Noah Baumbach (Warner Brothers, Heyday Films, and LuckyChap Entertainment)
  • Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves written by Jonathan Goldstein, John Francis Daley, Michael Gilio, and Chris McKay (Paramount Pictures, Entertainment One, and Allspark Pictures)
  • Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse written by Phil Lord, Christopher Miller, and Dave Callaham (Columbia Pictures, Marvel Entertainment, and Avi Arad Productions)
  • The Boy and the Heron written by Hayao Miyazaki (Studio Ghibli and Toho Company)

Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • Winner: To Shape a Dragon’s Breath by Moniquill Blackgoose, published by Del Rey
  • The Inn at the Amethyst Lantern by J. Dianne Dotson, published by Android
  • The Ghost Job by Greg van Eekhout, published by Harper
  • Liberty’s Daughter by Naomi Kritzer, published by Fairwood

Best Game Writing

  • The Bread Must Rise by Stewart C Baker and James Beamon, published by Choice of Games
  • Alan Wake II by Sam Lake, Clay Murphy, Tyler Burton Smith, and Sinnika Annala, published by Remedy Entertainment and Epic Games Publishing
  • Ninefox Gambit: Machineries of Empire Roleplaying Game by Yoon Ha Lee and Marie Brennan, published by Android
  • Dredge by Joel Mason, published by Black Salt Games and Team 17
  • Chants of Sennaar by Julian Moya and Thomas Panuel, published by Rundisc and Focus Entertainment
  • Winner: Baldur’s Gate 3 by Adam Smith, Adrienne Law, Baudelaire Welch, Chrystal Ding, Ella McConnell, Ine Van Hamme, Jan Van Dosselaer, John Corcoran, Kevin VanOrd, Lawrence Schick, Rachel Quirke, Ruairí Moore, Sarah Baylus, Stephen Rooney, Martin Docherty, and Swen Vincke, published by Larian Studios

Susan Cooper received the Damon Knight Grand Master Award, which is a lifetime achievement in writing science fiction and/or fantasy. Jennell Jaquays was given the Kate Wilhelm Solstice Award for contributions to the science fiction and fantasy community. The Kevin O’Donnell, Jr. Service to SFWA Award was given to James Hosek. And the Infinity Award, a posthumous honor to acclaimed creators who passed away before they could be considered for a Damon Knight Memorial Grand Master Award, was given to Tanith Lee. icon-paragraph-end

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top